Several Local Minimum Wage Rates Increased on July 1, 2018

July 3, 2018Legal Alerts

Last year, California employers faced a swell of new city and county labor laws that increased employers’ local minimum wage obligations.  Several of these local ordinances included incremental increases that went into effect over time, including many increases that are effective as of July 1, 2018. 

In addition to meeting the state’s minimum wage requirements ($10.50/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees, and $11.00/hour for employers with more than 25 employees), California employers must also comply with any local minimum wage ordinances in effect.  The local ordinances that increased on July 1, 2018 include: Belmont, El Cerrito, Emeryville, Long Beach, the City of Los Angeles, the unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County, Malibu, Milpitas, Pasadena, Richmond, San Francisco, San Leandro, and Santa Monica.  In addition, numerous other California cities already have heightened minimum wage rates in place.  Current local minimum wage rates include:

City

Minimum Wage

Effective Date

Belmont

$12.50/hour

July 1, 2018

Berkeley

$13.75/hour currently, increasing to $15.00/hour

October 1, 2018

Cupertino

$13.50/hour

January 1, 2018

El Cerrito

$13.60/hour

July 1, 2018

Emeryville

$15.00/hour (55 or fewer employees)

$15.69/hour (56 or more employees)

July 1, 2018

Long Beach

$14.64/hour

July 1, 2018

Los Altos

$13.50/hour

January 1, 2018

Los Angeles (City)

$12.00/hour (25 or fewer employees)

$13.25/hour (26 or more employees)

July 1, 2018

Los Angeles County (Unincorporated areas only)

$12.00/hour (25 or fewer employees)

$13.25/hour (26 or more employees)

July 1, 2018

Malibu

$12.00/hour (25 or fewer employees)

$13.25/hour (26 or more employees)

July 1, 2018

Milpitas

$13.50/hour

July 1, 2018

Mountain View

$15.00/hour

January 1, 2018

Oakland

$13.23/hour

January 1, 2018

Palo Alto

$13.50/hour

January 1, 2018

Pasadena

$12.00/hour (25 or fewer employees)

$13.25/hour (26 or more employees)

July 1, 2018

Richmond

$11.91/hour (if benefits received)

$13.41/hour (if no benefits paid)

July 1, 2018

San Diego

$11.50/hour

January 1, 2017

San Francisco

$15.00/hour

July 1, 2018

San Jose

$13.50/hour

January 1, 2018

San Leandro

$13.00/hour

July 1, 2018

San Mateo

$13.00/hour (for profit companies)

$12.00/hour (non-profit companies)

January 1, 2018

Santa Clara

$13.00/hour

January 1, 2018

Santa Monica

$12.00/hour (25 or fewer employees)

$13.25/hour (26 or more employees)

July 1, 2018

Sunnyvale

$15.00/hour

January 1, 2018

The information contained in this alert is not intended to and does not constitute legal advice.  If you have questions about minimum wage rate compliance, please contact your Dinsmore attorney.