2014 Minimum Wage Changes

December 30, 2013Articles
Several states will ring in 2014 with new minimum wage and posting requirements for employers. For many states, this will be in the form of higher minimum wages, but a few have also updated their posting requirements. A complete listing of states (including the District of Columbia) with new wage and hour requirements can be found below. Employers should be certain that these changes are implemented and take proactive steps to ensure compliance with ever changing wage and hour laws and regulations. Taking a fresh look at FLSA exemptions, re-training supervisors and other management employees about off-the-clock work and evaluating compliance with meal and rest break obligations is a great way to start the new year and avoid liabilities and collective/class actions down the road.

State  Minimum Wage Increase  Posting Requirements 

Effective January 1, 2014: increase to $7.90.



Effective July 1, 2014:
From $8.00 to $9.00 per hour for non-exempt employees. 



As of January 1, 2014:

Non-tipped employees: $8.00 per hour.

Tipped employees: $4.98 per hour. 



As of January 1, 2014:

Non-tipped employees: from $8.25 to $8.70 per hour

Tip Credit for Employers whose employees receive tips: $1.36 for bartenders and $3.01 for non-bartender hotel and restaurant workers.


Updated to reflect minimum wage increase. To obtain a copy of the wage poster, employers should call (860) 263-6790.

No change (Senate Bill 6, to raise minimum wage from $7.25 to $8.25, passed by the Senate and has key backing by members of the House. Additionally, DE governor supports the increase and expects further discussion with the General Assembly when it returns in January).



Legislation pending for an increase to $11.50 per hour.



As of January 1, 2014:

Non-tipped employees: increased to $7.93 per hour.

Tipped Employees: employer must pay direct minimum wage of $4.91. 


Updated to reflect increase in minimum wage. Employer must post this poster.

The 2014 posting requirements include this poster on Breastfeeding in the Workplace.



No change (legislation pending for an increase beginning in July 2014). 



No change (legislation pending for a 2014 increase from $7.40 to $7.90 per hour). 



Non-Tipped employees: increased $7.50 per hour
Tipped employees: $3.75 per hour but compensation must total at least $7.50 per hour. 


Employers must post this poster.

On January 1, 2014, will increase to $7.90 per hour.


No change. A list of required postings is available here.
New Jersey 

Increase on January 1, 2014 for Non-tipped employees:
$8.25 per hour.

New posting form required by the New Jersey Safe Act, which became effective in October 2013 is available here.


New York  Effective December 31, 2013:
Non-tipped employees increase to $8.00 per hour. 

Updated Minimum Wage poster, but to date, that poster has not been finalized. Once the poster is finalized, it will likely be found here.



Non-Tipped employees: $7.95 per hour
Tipped employees: $3.98 per hour

Covered employers must have gross receipts of at least $292,000.


Employers must post this 2014 Ohio Minimum Wage poster.
Oregon  Increase to $9.10 on January 1, 2014.

Employers must post this 2014 Oregon Minimum Wage poster.


Rhode Island  Increase to $8.00.

Employers must post this 2014 Rhode Island Minimum Wage poster.


Vermont  Non-Tipped employees: increase to $8.73 per hour
Tipped employees: increase to $4.23 per hour.
Employers must post this 2014 Vermont Minimum Wage poster.
Washington  Increase to $9.32 per hour.

An overview of required posters is available here.